Let’s Put the “World” Back in The World Fantasy Awards

When I heard that the 2017 World Fantasy Award winners had been announced, I excitedly glanced through the list, only to be disappointed when I found absolutely no authors who write in a language other than English. Then I became curious and combed through the past World Fantasy Awards, and found that, throughout its history, non-Anglophone authors are only honored a handful of times. Makes me wonder why it’s called the World Fantasy Award. Anyway, I picked out all of the authors of SF in translation and made a list so you don’t have to go combing through the award lists yourself. Enjoy!




Lifetime Achievement- Winner- Andrzej Sapkowski [Polish]

Collection- Finalist- Leena Krohn: The Collected Fiction by Leena Krohn, multiple translators (Cheeky Frawg) [Finnish]



Novella- Finalist- “Where the Trains Turn” by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen, translated by  Liisa Rantalaiho (Tor.com, Nov 19, 2014) [Finnish]



Collection- Finalist- Jagannath by Karin Tidbeck, translated by the author (Cheeky Frawg) [Swedish]



Lifetime Achievement- Winner- Angélica Gorodischer [Spanish- Argentina]

Special Award, Professional- Finalist- Stéphane Marsan & Alain Névant, for Bragelonne [French]



Collection- Winner- There Once Lived a Woman Who Tried To Kill Her Neighbor’s Baby: Scary Fairy Tale by Lyudmila Petrushevskaya, translated by Keith Gessen and Anna Summers (Penguin) [Russian]



Novel- Winner- Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami, translated by Philip Gabriel (Harvill; Knopf) [Japanese]

Special Award- Professional- Finalist- S. T. Joshi & Stefan Dziemianowicz, eds., for Supernatural Literature of the World: An Encyclopedia



Novella- Finalist- Tainaron: Mail from Another City by Leena Krohn, translated by Hildi Hawkins (Prime Books) [Finnish]



Novella- Winner- “The Library” by Zoran Zivkovic, translated by Alice Copple-Tošić (Leviathan, Volume Three) [Serbian]



Novel- Winner: Perfume by Patrick Süskind, translated by John E. Woods (Knopf) [German]



Novel- Finalist– The Wandering Unicorn (1965) by Manuel Mujica Láinez, translated by Mary Fitton (Taplinger) [Spanish- Argentina]



Lifetime Achievement- Winner: Italo Calvino [Italy]



Life Achievement- Winner: Jorge Luis Borges [Spanish- Argentina]




2 comments on “Let’s Put the “World” Back in The World Fantasy Awards”

  1. RD Reply

    You've missed Lyudmila Petrushevskaya's collection that got the award in 2010 (a tie with Gene Wolfe).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *